Unmerging and Deleting Merged Tickets

After reading about the merge tickets feature from last week, I’m sure some of you might be wondering if it’s possible to merge multiple tickets or to daisy chain merged tickets. Without much ado, loser tickets cannot be merged with any other ticket.

And, winner tickets (to which one or more tickets have been merged) always stay that way. Multiple new tickets can be merged to a winner ticket A by going through the requisite steps. But, it isn’t possible to merge a winner ticket A to another ticket B and make A loser.

Unmerging Tickets

When you change your mind and decide to undo the merge action, try the Unmerge option at the bottom of the ticket details page. Naturally, when you unmerge tickets, they become independent. The winner ticket from earlier will now sport an appropriate mention of the unmerge action in the activity log.

Unmerging Tickets
Unmerging Tickets

All the updates till date will be retained in the winner ticket. The loser ticket is set to the default status in your account.

Deleting Tickets

When a winner ticket (to which one or more tickets have been merged) is deleted, all the associated loser tickets and their updates will be deleted. Of course, you’ll be promptly alerted about the same when trying to execute the delete action.

What to do when you are hard pressed to delete a winner ticket and not the tickets merged to it, you ask? The best way to go about is by unmerging the loser tickets and then proceeding with the delete action. On the other hand, loser tickets cannot be deleted and they can’t be selected for mass actions from the ticket list page as well.

It’s easy to grasp when you start merging or unmerging tickets. However, if you have any doubts, ping us at support@blog.happyfox.com or just leave a comment in the comments section!